March 4, 2013

NOTICE TO ALL NEW JERSEY LICENSED WHOLESALERS
CONCERNING CURRENT PRICE LIST FILING REQUIREMENTS

Please be advised that the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (“Division”) is moving
toward requiring electronic filing of Current Price Lists (“‘CPL” or “CPLs”) by every licensee or
registrant privileged to sell alcoholic beverages to retailers in the State of New Jersey. As part of
this effort, the Division is in the process of modernizing its information collection and
management system. This Notice is intended to assist licensees and registrants in ensuring
compliance with existing regulatory requirements concerning the submittal of CPLs and
amendments thereto. Accordingly, pursuant to the Division’s March 18, 2003 Notice to Industry
and ABC Bulletins Numbers 2460-8 and 2465-1, please be reminded of the following:

1. Monthly CPL Filings.

. N.JL.A.C. 13:2-24.6(a)(4) requires a CPL to be filed with the Division “no later
than the 15" day of each calendar month ...” preceding the month for which it
is be effective. This means that a CPL must be received by the Division by 5:00
PM on the 15" of each month. Failure to submit by this deadline may result in a
rejection of the CPL (which may prevent sales of the products listed therein in
New Jersey for the corresponding month) or other disciplinary action, including
license suspension or monetary penalties. In order to avoid these results, it is
imperative that all licensees and registrants ensure that their CPLs are
received by the Division by the 15" of each month.

. A new CPL must be filed each month, regardless of whether there are any changes
in prices from the previous month.

. If a licensee or registrant does not sell its products to retailers in the State, and is
therefore, not required to file a monthly CPL with the Division, please
immediately advise the Division at CPL@Ips.state.nj.us.

. Every licensee or registrant required to file a CPL with the Division must provide
a valid e-mail address along with its submittal.

2. Amendments to CPL Filings.

. N.JA.C. 13:2-24.6(a)(5) provides that ... “[N]o amendments or changes (except
upon approval of the Director to correct bona fide clerical errors) shall be made
therein prior to filing of the next monthly price list.” Past practice of the Division
has allowed amendments in limited circumstances, provided the Director is
satisfied that the amendments are made in good faith and do not provide the filer



with an unfair competitive advantage. The following CPL amendment procedures
will be enforced:

1.

If a clerical error is discovered within 48 hours of submittal of a CPL, the
filer must submit an affidavit to the Division, which includes all facts
supporting its request for the amendment(s). Amendments will be
presumptively denied unless a bona fide clerical error is established by the
filer.

If an error is discovered outside the 48-hour period, or if the filer wishes to
introduce a new product after a CPL has been filed, the filer must submit
an affidavit to the Division seeking relaxation of N.J.A.C. 13:2-24.6(a)(5)
pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:2-9.1. The Director will consider the request upon
a showing of undue hardship on a licensee; that the waiver of the rule
would not unduly burden any affected parties; and that the waiver is
consistent with the underlying purposes of Title 33 and its implementing
regulations. This is a higher standard than for amendment requests made
within the 48-hour window.

Any affidavit seeking an amendment to a CPL under Number 1 or 2 above
must include the following representations, as appropriate:

a. The affiant is authorized to make the representations contained in
the affidavit on behalf of the licensee or registrant;
b. The reason(s) the amendment request is being made (e.g., to

correct a demonstrated bona fide clerical error or to allow for the
introduction of a new product);

C. If an amendment is submitted beyond the 48-hour period, the
affiant should provide the dates and details of the licensee’s
attempts to file within 48 hours and the events that occurred which
prevented it from filing within that deadline. Where the delay is
attributed to a supplier’s delay, corroborating letters from the
suppliers should be attached to the affidavit;

d. The amendment request is submitted in good faith;

e. The granting of the amendment will not give the wholesaler an
unfair competitive advantage;

f. The number of prior amendment requests which have been
submitted by that wholesaler within the last year; and

g. A statement immediately preceding the affiant’s signature

providing that: “I certify that the foregoing statements made by me
are true. I am aware that if any of the foregoing statements made
by me are wilfully false, I am subject to punishment.” Each
affidavit should be signed by the affiant and notarized before a



Notary Public.

Beginning with the CPL filing due on May 15, 2013, the Division will not accept
amendment requests unless they are in an affidavit form, as outlined above. For
the convenience of the industry, a form of affidavit will be posted on the
Division’s website prior to that date.

All amendment requests must be submitted electronically to CPL@Ips.state.nj.us.

For amendment requests made within 48 hours after submittal of a CPL, the
Director will approve or deny the request by way of e-mail. For amendment
requests made outside the 48-hour window, the Director will issue a Special
Ruling.

It is the Division’s intention to encourage all CPL filers to review their filings
carefully for clerical errors before and immediately after filing in order to reduce
the need for amendments to the maximum extent possible.

/ Michael I. Halfacre
Director





